beware the psixi

I returned from Prague on Monday (it’s absolutely gorgeous and amazing) with a bit of a cold, which I’m attributing to the change in climate (Athens has been dependably hot; Prague was rainy and the weather kept shifting from cool to warm) and to traveling factors in general, such as the change in timezone, a ton of walking, and my increased consumption of beer (it was really good and really cheap).

Anyway, being sick made me think of psixi — what Greeks call the sickness you get from air-conditioning, the fan, or a draft. It’s sort of equivalent to believing in the evil eye. My friends and I have had a lot of laughs about this one, but then secretly, deep-down, we think it’s true. A few weeks ago my sister got sick with a cold and said she thought it was from air-conditioning. I’ve had a friend tell me to shut if off because it was making her feel like crap, and at various points in my life, I have woken up certain that the air-conditioning has somehow given me a cold. I’ve also heard people express concern about fans blowing directly onto them, but I draw the line there because, you know, I’m rational.

Still, I wonder if there’s something to it. Certainly if the AC filter isn’t changed enough or isn’t working properly it can introduce mold into the room. I also read something about air-conditioning making the air dryer, and therefore making your respiratory system more susceptible to germs. Could the dreaded psixi be real? Anyway, beware the chill.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

