the young are leaving

Some of you may have noticed the silence here on Athenster. I haven’t posted in a long time because I returned to the US and started graduate school, and I am still trying to decide what to do with the blog. I think I may keep posting, but just on a less frequent basis. If anyone has any thoughts or ideas on what I should do, let me know.

Anyway, what’s prompting this post is this article in the New York Times about young Greeks leaving Greece (thanks to Janet for forwarding it to me). Coincidentally, I went to high school with two of the people mentioned in the article. I also know the writer; she works for Athens Plus. It’s an interesting article, and not really news to me…though I wonder whether it’s only privileged Greeks who get to leave Greece to study or work abroad. It would have been good if the article mentioned some statistic on this, especially since I know people (young people, I should specify) who have chosen to move back to Greece after studying abroad and who have found work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

